iCloud

How to Delete Photos from iCloud?

delete photos from iCloud

Having a surplus of photos in your iCloud account? Want to get rid of unwanted photos stored in it? This guide will provide you step-by-step instructions on how to deleted photos from your iCloud account and make some storage space to store more data.

Steps to Delete Photos from iCloud

It can be quite frustrating to sort photos in your iCloud account when they are in multiple of thousands. If you are running out of space in your iCloud account, you may want to get rid of photos and videos which don’t hold much importance to you. Deleting such photos and videos from iCloud will not only help in sorting your photo directory but also add some space for storing more data. To learn, how to delete photos in iCloud, follow the information provided below.

Before, following the below-mentioned instructions to delete photos from your iCloud account, it is important to consider the following factors:

  • If you have enabled iCloud Photos in your Mac (OS X 10.10.3 or later) or iOS device (iOS 8.1 or later), the photos or videos that you will delete from iCloud will also be removed and from all your devices where iCloud Photos would be enabled.
  • In case you have not disabled iCloud Photos on your Mac or iOS device, you can simply remove photos or videos from the Camera Roll album of your iOS device. This way, they will not be synced with your iCloud backup.

To Delete photos or Videos

  1. On your iOS device (iOS 8.1 or later), you will need to go to the Photos app, tap on the Photos option located at the bottom of the screen, and then view your photos and videos by Moments.
  2. Next, you will need to tap on the Select option and then tap on one or more photos or videos.
  3. After selecting the photos or videos that you don’t need, you will need to tap on the Trash icon.
  4. After that, just tap on the Delete [items] option.

NOTE:

  • Alternatively, you can also remove photos and videos using the Photos app on iCloud.com or Mac (OS X 10.10.3 or later).
  • All the photos and videos you delete are stored in the Recently Deleted album on your device. These deleted photos and videos remain in the Recently Deleted album for 30 days. Post 30 days period, the items in this album are permanently removed from all the devices set up for iCloud Photos.

To Recover Deleted Photos and Videos

You can easily recover your deleted photos from Recently Deleted album within 30-days from the day you removed them by following these steps:

  • Go to the Recently Deleted album on your iOS device, and tap on the Select option.
  • Next, you will need to tap to select one or more items.
  • Once you are done making the selection of photos and videos that you wish to recover, tap on the Delete option.
  • After that, you will need to tap on the Delete [items].

To Delete photos or videos from Camera Roll

In case you are not using iCloud Photos before you remove photos or videos from the Camera Roll in your iOS device, you can easily import them to your computer. To delete photos or videos from your Camera roll, follow these steps:

  1. On your device, go to the Photos app, tap on the Albums option, and then tap on the Camera Roll option.
  2. Next, you will need to tap on the Select option.
  3. Then, you will need to tap one or more photos or videos.
  4. After that, tap on the Trash icon and then on the Delete [items].
  5. Selected photos will be deleted from Camera Roll.

So, these are the workarounds to delete photos from iCloud.

Leave a Comment