Gmail

How To Send Self-Destructing Emails In Gmail?

Remember the epic scene from the Mission Impossible series in which Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise) gets the details of his mission in a secretive way which get self-destructed in a couple of seconds? Well, Gmail has introduced a similar feature for the users in their platform. No, Gmail is not going to send you on a deadly mission; instead, it will allow you to send emails to others that will be destructed after a certain period of time. To know how to configure and send self-destructing emails from your Gmail account, follow the instructions provided below.

Steps to Send Self-Destructing Emails in Gmail

Gmail has introduced a new confidential mode which allows you to configure as to how long an email should exist before it gets removed automatically from the recipient’s inbox folder.

1.) On your computer, open a web browser and sign in to your Gmail account.

2.) Once you are logged into your Gmail account, click on the Compose button located on the left-hand side panel.

3.) In the Compose box, you will find a “lock and clock” icon located on the lower section of the window. Clicking on this icon will open a “Confidential mode” box on your screen in which you will be prompted to set the expiration video.

4.) In the SET EXPIRATION field, choose the period after which you want the message to get automatically deleted from the recipient’s inbox folder.

5.) Once you are done making the changes, click on the Save button.

6.) Now, when you will send the message, the email will get into self-destruction mode. When the time period will get over, the message from the recipient’s box will get removed automatically.

NOTE: Once the message gets delivered to the inbox of the recipient, the self-destruction period will begin. The sender will be able to access the message only till the predetermined period.

7.) In case, if you wish to revoke the access sooner, you can do so by going to the Sent folder on your Gmail account and opening that confidential message. After opening the email, simply click on the “remove access” option.

NOTE: Recipients will not be able to forward email contents, copy/paste, download or print the email sent in confidential mode.

And, this is how you can create and send self-destructing emails from your Gmail account.

Leave a Comment